Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to question and offer criticisms on their teachers. Others think this will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present day, with the advance of globalization and technology, the way of learning and teaching have been changing. Therefore, learning approaches are a primary concern in any society. While some people claim students ought to interact with teachers through questions and arguments, others argue that this freedom can lead to disorganization in the classroom. I tend to agree with the former since individuals are different in all aspects and they have opposite ideas and regardless of any topic everybody has the right of expressing. On the one hand, when pupils have an opportunity to enquire questions and debate different ideas they not only learn new aspects about a topic but also share thoughts with other people. Moreover, this change of ideas is a form of broadening their horizon for new perspectives. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, in a discussion, when citizens know both sides of it, 75% tend to be more aware of outcomes. On the other hand, some individuals believe teachers should have control of the situation in order to maintain respect. In order words, students should not have the opposite idea in relation to their supervisors. Furthermore, some adults argue pupils irrespective of any topic, pupils need to respect older ones. Take a survey carried out by The New York Times as an example where without discussions, supervisors are more respected, however, the creativity of supervised ones is reduced by 30%. The more control of people, the more limited society will be. As far as I am concerned, I tend to agree with the former view since the limitation of knowledge become students in adults without a critical sense. In addition, when individuals have a chance to debate a variety of topics, they may both learn new opinions and discuss social issues present in our society. Besides that, education transforms citizens, and they change the world resulting in a community much better to reside in. In conclusion, discussions are essential to building the personality of a person. Hence, it is of paramount importance that teachers are willing to support opposite opinions so as to elucidate to students both views about different topics.