Many people believe cycling has many healthy benefits. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

It has been a while since the eco-friendly transportation bicycle was first introduced and its popularity seems to has decreased in many countries and this could have happened due to various reasons. This essay will elaborate the causes of cycling has many benefits and highlight some possible solutions in order to tackle this urgent issue. A few decades ago bicycle was used as one of the main transportations and with the invention of motorized vehicles, the popularity of the cycle has decreased. A cycle, in the past, was seen as far convenient than walking or using animal-driven transports. People could move faster with the help of a cycle and that made this vehicle quite popular in many countries. However, when the motorized vehicle was introduced, people switched to that as later one is faster and can carry more goods at a time. The safe and green mode of transport cycle, became less popular as people started using cars for commuting. Moreover, the safety of the cyclist is a significant issue. Because nowadays roads are full of motor vehicles, the safety of two-wheelers cannot be ensured. In addition to that, slow speed discourages many people from the use of cycles. Finally, cycles are inefficient for long-distance transportation. However, some key elements are there to gain back the cyclists to the road again. Firstly, governments should implement a separate cycling path dedicated to the cyclist and that would ensure the safety of the cyclists. In addition to that, providing secure parking facilities will also encourage many to use cycles.Restriction on car ownership and increasing the price of fuel would encourage many to use cycle instead of driving cars. Finally, awareness campaigns to educate people about the health and environmental benefits of using a bicycle could be a great step to motivate more people use it daily. To conclude, a government has a great role to play to motivate its citizens to use bicycles and this would guarantee a green environment and a healthy nation.