Alcohol consumption has increased dramatically over the years. Some people believe that government should increase taxes on alcoholic beverages but others oppose to this idea and advocate personal responsibility. What do you think?

Over the past few years alcohol consumption has significantly rised rise risen due to origin of wide range of alcoholic brands and it appearance in different advertisement placements. In front of this issue, people have divided in two groups, there are ones who claim that the government should increase taxes on alcoholic drinks and there are others who think that the alcohol consumption should remain as personal responsibility. The next paragraphs examine the both sides of the argument until to reach a reasonable conclusion. Firstly, it is clearly to see why so many people will support the levy increase. One of these reason are the discouragement of consumption and promotion of healthy life style. People have to know how irresponsible consumption of alcohol can ruin their lives and how to solve if it happens/occurs. Secondly, the governments could administrate beverage taxes in a positive way, for example investing this money in people affected by alcoholism and helping them to reconstruct their lives. On the other hand of the argument, there are some reasons against of the measure. In the fist place the violation of free will right. People have the primary right to choose and decide what is better for them. In case of imposing the measure, people will act against their will and that will produce general discontent in the society. Last but not the least, why everyone should be punished and pay the same price? In other words, it is unfair that occasional consumer of beverage drinks should pay the same price as reckless consumers. In conclusion, I think the governments should protect people of irresponsible consumption of substances such as alcohol however always allowing the right of personal decision.