With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Disciplines at school provide basic knowledge for children. Generally, each youngster’s life starts from school subjects. They are specially organised at the institute to provide literacy and important life skills in various areas of life. Some people believe that academic subjects give more success in adulthood in comparison to non-academic subjects and it should be removed from schools extra circular activities. Although academic achievements are essential I strongly believe that non-academic subjects teach children crucial life skills and make them healthier and successful. From my point of view that only academic subjects can bring success to future adults, society can lose the opportunity to raise teenagers in harmony. There is a lot of evidence that non-academic skills such as cookery or physical education have the same impact on children ’s development as academic disciplines are considered to have. For example, physical education helps children to strengthen their bodies and increases their strong will and ability to bear difficulties. Moreover, such skills as cookery or skill to sew can develop attentive and creative people. As a result, after gaining simple physical talents youngsters become more confident due to obtained practice and experience to live. The other reason non-academic subjects are important is the well-being issue. It is obvious that children require activities which improve their energy status as physical exercises and active games. If they do not have physical education in schools as a subject, they feel weak and motionless. As a result, they become less interested in the study, they get sick often and do not have the ability to resist diseases. Consequently, society should anticipate demotivated and physically powerless members, who cannot succeed a lot in adulthood because of strength problems or lack of energy. To conclude, school children should have an opportunity to grow mentally and physically stronger. As it was above mentioned, this chance can be given if they have both academic and non-academic subjects to study at schools.