The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In many countries around the globe, governments allocate a large proportion of funds to entertainment such as art, music and theatre. Public services are definitely more significant for the public. It is, therefore, completely agreed that the public services are comparatively the way more essential for people rather than enjoyment activities. Analysing the outstanding benefits of health and education, and safety for the public will prove it. Firstly, the basic needs of all populations are health and education which are better to be fulfiled by the state of a nation. For example, free primary, secondary and tertiary qualifications along with an affordable healthcare facilities for the people are vital for living. Therefore, the government is required to make sure that people are getting a good standard of health amenities and educational services at the expense of the governemnt. Thus, everyone can enjoy a better lifestyle that cater not only for their physical and mental health but also offers them basic learning opportunities. Secondly, living in a secure environment is also crucial for the citizens of a nation as this is the responsibility of the state to provide people a safe ambience. For instance, a strong law enforcement system can provide safety to the public. This is possible when the state increases its spending budget in the departments such as the police and army. Hence, it makes it clear that the government funding must be given to ensure safety and security of the public. In conclusion, the public services such as health, education and security of the inhabitants of a state are far more crucial than entertaining prospects. Therefore, it is totally agreed that the government funding should be invested on the public services. Therefore, it is predicted that if the governments realise this and make public services a priority for spending, the living conditions will be improved worldwide.