In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays obesity has become really widespread among young children which puts their life in danger. I completely agree with the argument that the responsibility of tackling this issue falls on governments since they have enough power and funding. I believe there are several actions worth being taken by the governments to solve this problem in the most appropriate way.In my opinion obesity of children originates from two main areas; the food that children eat and their daily or weekly activities,so, since authorities have the required power and money, they can effectively improve the two areas for our children. Regarding the food that kids eat, one thing that authorities can do is to introduce school meals which are healthy and full of vitamins and proteins for children. This can include several types of food ranging from different fruits to vegetables. Furthermore, another action related to the food worth taking is to introduce higher taxes for children eating fast food. This measure acts as a deterrent and in this way, families try to provide less amount of fast food for their children during the year. Thirdly, they can introduce some specific subjects in the schools' curriculum in which their teachers talk about the benefits of having a healthy lifestyle and diet and also discuss the negative consequences of eating too much junk food and their long term effects on our life. These kinds of subjects require hiring some new part-time teachers who are actually doctors and to do this, governments have to allocate a part of their budget to that. Moreover, creating some cartoons on social media with the same topic can also have a significant effect on children's attitudes towards a healthy lifestyle. In regard to physical activities, governments have to do anything in order to increase the hours and time that children spend on physical activities because these kinds of activities can considerably burn a huge amount of the calories that children gain during a day and help them be fit. This objective can be achieved by introducing some extra sports subjects to the schools' curriculum. Since children are enthusiastic about these activities, in a long time they will be moved towards a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, the obesity rate among children has increased dramatically which may bring several health issues for them and I believe that governments can best address this problem since they have enough resources to decrease this rate.