A big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that earning large amounts of money plays a more crucial role in people ’s lives compared with the fulfillments in their workplaces. This essay totally disagrees with that statement. In my opinion, being content with their jobs will prevent deterioration of mental and physical health, and pursuing their passions will lead to great career development. Firstly, the majority of people favour a joyful and pleasant work-life over high paying but stressful one because the negative working environment leads to depression, dissatisfaction and mental problems; moreover, being employed in a big salary but tiring job will bring about many diseases: cardiovascular, musculoskeletal and neurological diseases to count but a few. To give a clear example, my uncle, a CEO of a huge company, has suffered work burnout, which leads to insomnia, hypertension and anxiety disorder despite making huge profits. Thus, most people prefer being contented and joyous with their professions. In addition, if people follow their passions and personal goals, they will achieve remarkable outcomes. Having a sense of satisfaction from the jobs motivates people, encouraging them to perform more efficiently and to accomplish life-long dreams. For instance, although many doctors are constantly under much pressure and workloads, those who enjoy their professions achieve multiple goals in their career pathway, while those who have no passion in the medical fields suffer from mental health problems and fail to improve their lives. In conclusion, I strongly believe that neglecting one’s happiness and health is not worth prioritising over a large income as the feeling of contentment and happiness will bless people with great health and certainty in climbing their career ladders in the future.