Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the importance level of lessons in the curriculums of school. While some people argue that History is one of the main subjects, others think courses that are related to technical and practical skills such as Science and Technology are more valuable. In my opinion, they are important in an equal measure. On the one hand, it is very crucial for pupils to be informed about their and other countries’ historical events. History is much more than simply a lesson that aims to teach historical figures or breakthroughs that took place in the past, it also has a vital connection with the culture and traditions of nations. Therefore, students have the opportunity to gain deeper insight into their heritage, who they are and where they came from. Such historical training also allows us to learn from mistakes made by our former leaders and politicals, and how to avoid them in the future. For example, we are taught wars that have taken place a long time ago in order to be aware of the potential negative consequences of particular actions. On the other hand, subjects such as science and technology have also become very important in today’s world. These studies put more emphasis on turning pupils into the great minds of the future who will contribute to their countries’ economies with innovations and improvements they bring. In this way, governments ensure that they are adapting to the current needs and expectations of the technological era. From an individual perspective, people who have received a high-quality education with regard to science and technology tend to have more job opportunities and higher salaries. It has been shown that the largest and most successful companies in the world are those in the technology or science industry. In conclusion, while history is needed to learn from the past, courses like technology and science are required for individuals and nations to play a key role in the future.