Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Some individuals believe, that the genetic composition at the time of birth is the only factor which determines our physical traits and the external environment does not play any significant role in character development. I believe that it is both nature and nurture which plays a pivotal role in personality build-up. To begin with, there are evidences to prove that although genes influence the innate abilities of a person. It is the hard-work and regular practices as well which is governing the kids to accomplish new heights. For example, currently 3-5 years old youths are giving their marvelous stage performances featuring on programs like "Dance India Dance" and "India's Got Talents" on television and their achievements are the outcomes of both in-born genetics along with the outside motivation and dedication. Additionally in today's era, it is the entire town that raises the child and not the parents alone. The environment in which the individual grows plays a very crucial role in character development. The family in which the child is born, the surrounding he/she is exposed with, the school from where he gets the education influences the child's area of interest. To illustrate, even the best sportsman kid has no interest in sports and he thrives to become a singer or musician if he is fascinated by music from his/ her surroundings. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is not only the chromosomes who will decide the being's charisma, rather the efforts, opportunities, and circumstances will also determine the entity's character.