Getting promotions are one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? What other factors motivate people to work hard?

In modernized working environments, getting a healthy raise is what motivates workers the most. This essay will be discussing why people strive to receive promotions at the workplace as well as other things that can be a source of motivation for them. To begin, promotions in the work environment have numerous benefits which make people be clamouring for it at all times and being opportune to reach an apogee even before retirement seamed to be the most palpable. Attaining the desired level brings about a deep sense of fulfilment and self-actualization. This is because salaries are increased to commensurate levels and one can lay hands on them to make lifetime investments. For instance, my uncle was able to complete his dream house this year shortly after he received his retirement benefits. However, there are other motivating factors other than a promotion that can make workers feel stimulated. Good leadership style is a typical example with democratic leadership type been the best. This is a form where the manager involves the subordinates during decision making and as well values their opinion. This, make them motivated towards goals since they were part of the decision. Moreso, good working equipment has a way of making employees discharge their duties with minimal stress as well as function effectively. For example, in the year 2009, I got employed in a company that produces bread at Anambra State. Therein, there are numerous machines starting from the mixing stage down to the last making us able to bake large quantities daily with less stress. In conclusion, a promotion at work is the biggest motivation factor one can get and the relevance of a good leadership style and appropriate working tools cannot be overemphasized.