In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In the earlier days, one's main source of news was the paper on your doorstep. However, nowadays this has been replaced by the Internet. Many people say that due to this, nobody will buy newspapers or books and turn to the internet to read content for free. However, I don't fully agree with this. Yes, one must agree that the internet has played a large role in providing the masses with access to a wide range of information in one place. I can search for whatever I need at any given time and location. While some of the older folks still read books and newspapers, the younger Gen-Z population has replaced this with Twitter and Kindle. However, as the web is getting more popular and sophisticated, content is not as free as it was before. For instance, business news websites such as Bloomberg and CNBC only allow you to view the headlines for free and charge you a subscription fee to access the full article. Another way to look at this, is that as a free user you are forced to watch advertisements between content but, premium users who pay a fee are not succumbed to adverts. To conclude, a wide variety of sources offer information to the public for free but the most credible sources are starting to incorporate a fee. Hence, although you might be able to read away online it might not be free.