Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often said that students ought to study whatever they like, while others argue that it would be better for students to be forced into certain key subject areas. Personally, I believe that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice. Firstly, it is crucial that universities should bring scientists, engineers and other professionals to the workforce who may help society to progress. This is because a country without such experts lacks the resources to design, construct, and maintain vital aspects of modern life. For instance, if a nation did not have engineers, it would not have such public transportation and infrastructure as subways, trams, and bridges. Therefore, if students are permitted to study what they choose, there will be a shortage of these essential employees. Nevertheless, I believe that university students should be free to opt for their preferred areas of study and this leads to lower failure rates. The reason for this is that understanding all the concepts of a subject that they are genuinely passionate about is typically easy, which results in concentrating and effective learning of the subject and provides the opportunity to achieve success in that particular field. Taylor Swift, for example, who is one of the most famous singers in the world, studied music as a major. Hence, from my perspective, people are more likely to succeed if they follow their interests. In conclusion, it might seem reasonable for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects. I personally prefer the school in which people have the right to learn whatever they like.