You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

At the start of the Covid-19 Pandemic in 2020, we were all introduced to the world of Remote Working, more popularly known as "WFH" i.e. Work from Home. Some say that working remotely is far better than commuting to the office each day. This essay will discuss in detail why the merits of WFH outweigh the demerits. Firstly, the most obvious advantage of remote work is saving time on the commute. Employees can save the time spent in getting ready as well as commuting to the office. On average, people generally spend 1-hour grooming and 1-hour travelling to their jobs. Secondly, it also allows employees to multitask between office work and chores at home which was earlier difficult. Further, from the perspective of the employer, companies can save the cost of office space by either reducing the size or eliminating the workplace altogether. For instance, many tech companies such as Spotify have announced remote work even after COVID and have downsized their offices. Since rent is a huge component of an organisation's cost, saving from WFH can make a company significantly profitable. On the other hand, working from home has its disadvantages as well. While employees enjoy the comfort of their home and pyjamas, this can often impact productivity. The workplace's energy typically makes a person more energized and productive. Further, there is less sense of accountability when employees are scattered around the city or even the world. From the perspective of the worker, often the working hours are informally extended at home. In my own case, when I was at home in 2020, I often found that my boss would expect me to work till 8pm sometimes. This expectation did not exist in the office. Another disadvantage for the worker is that they cannot exchange ideas and opinions with other colleagues which typically happens physically in the workplace. To conclude, while each method has its pros and cons, I find that Remote Working has significant flexibility and hence is a superior method to working from the office. Organisations should adopt a blend of the two for optimum productivity and efficiency.