Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

Some authorities think that it is more favorable for pupils who lives at the school dormitory during the semester instead of living in off-campus housing. This essay will discuss the both sides of the argument, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, opponents of boarding schools point that living in a dorm means less freedom because of the dorm rules and politics. For instance, students are concerned about the issue of choosing suitable roommate and controlling the tenants such as parties, noises, and games. Another argument is, most of the youngsters prefer to have more privacy in their own life. However, if they choose to live at school they probably would have less privacy due to widely spreading rumor and gossip between students. By contrast, supporters of boarding schools say that skills learned outweigh the disadvantages. They highlight the independence and assertiveness that a student will acquire, in areas such as time management and interpersonal skills. In other words, students who live on campus tend to make new friends more easily and save more time for commuting immediately. In addition, living in a dorm provides those who focus on only the studies by away from household works. They don’t need to know how to cook and do own cleaning, because the dorm rooms are usually furnished and come with meal plan, safe and most importantly kept clean by janitorial staff. In conclusion, my own feeling is that a boarding school can indeed be a useful activity, with independence, time management and focus mainly on studies. It seems that living on campus may lead students to have successful path of school years.