Tourism has increased so much over the last 50years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

In recent times, the impact of tourism on the local communities has been condemned by some people. However, some others believe otherwise, which I completely agree with. This essay will discuss the challenges and then the benefits of sightseeing followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. To begin with, various negative outcomes arise in the society from foreigners. Firstly, it leads to the immigration of international criminals into the state. As a result of the flexible migration law for travellers, a lot of criminals use it as s means of escape to other countries where they eventually settle and cause more crimes. Moreover, the government exploit such a region to generate public revenue by keeping the area underdeveloped. Consequently, forests, hills, lakes and mountains are preserved in their original state, while basic infrastructures including, health care facilities and good roads which will better improve the inhabitants are not provided because they will alter landscapes. For example, statistics have shown that most natural-beauty sites and landscapes are located in rural settlements most of which are underdeveloped. On the contrary, even with the demerits of sightseeing described above, the advantages of having natural landscapes is far more overwhelming. wildlife conservation helps to keep the predator-prey relationship in check. Accordingly, there is reduced epidemic outbreaks. For instance, many zoonotic diseases are caused by prey which can become overpopulated and cause public health concerns if they are not controlled by predators. Thus, helping the local communities have a healthy life. Furthermore, environmental pollution is reduced via wildlife. The flora, through photosynthesis aid in mopping out carbon dioxide from the atmosphere hence keeping the environment serene. Also, the greenhouse effect is reduced therefore preventing global warming and its dreaded consequences. In conclusion, even though some undesired effect occurs from wildlife conservation, I believe the merits are far more encompassing due to the health benefits, serene atmosphere and mitigation of global warming