Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people believe that when constructing a building, the architectural purpose is more valuable than exterior characteristics. Personally, I partly agree with this view, and I recommend that appearance and functions are both essential for construction. On the one hand, the importance of function has been enshrined in architecture since ancient times. The purpose of a building is to provide structurally sound and environmentally controlled spaces to house and protect occupants and contents. For example, the hotel is used for the provision of superior living services, and hospitals are used for healthcare. Therefore, different intended uses determine the interior design that is required to accommodate all the needs of the users, such as plant, tools, lift and building services. If this basic function is not achieved, not to mention the design of buildings. The users eventually feel disappointed, leading to the waste of resources and finance on the construction. On the other hand, outer appearances are also considered an essential part when constructing. The exterior building is what people are going to see first, and first impressions are essential whether for the image of cities and businesses. For example, Oriental Pearl Tower is the symbol of Shanghai. Moreover, if a shopping mall has a gorgeous outward look it definitely increases the number of customers. Therefore, people prefer to choose such places to shop rather than poor-designed supermarkets for services. Hence, the outlook of a building is also important during the construction, it not only represents a city, but also booms the industries locally. In conclusion, I still believe that both aesthetic appearance and intended functions play significant roles in the construction of architecture.