There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

Due to the growing complexity of modern society, people are suffering from unexpected and uncomfortable sounds in many places in the city. Consequently, noise has become a growing social problem. This essay will deal with the reasons for the noise and its solutions. One of the causes of noise in the city is the poor quality of roads. When vehicles run on incohesive asphalt, their particles rub against each other causing noise. Moreover, road cracks and unevenly set bricks on the sidewalk intensify the unpleasant sound. Another source of noise is construction sites. Heavy equipment such as cranes, road-rollers, and drills cause intense noise. Noise -reduction walls are set around the site, however, they are not enough as the powerful sound can still leak and disrupt the lives of people living or working nearby. Fortunately, there are solutions to these problems. Firstly, we can reduce the noise from roads by using excellent quality materials for pavement, such as cohesive, soft, and fine-grained substances as well as proper laying of bricks on the sidewalk. In addition, damaged portions of the road should be fixed immediately. As for the noise coming from construction areas, using motor-based equipment could be a solution to the problem. This kind of equipment does not create deafening noise as it is powered by electricity, unlike tools that run on fuel. Furthermore, connecting each wall panel to the other tightly and distancing the walls from the construction site can minimize the unpleasant sounds. To sum up, the noise problem in cities is caused by poorly-paved roads and construction sites. This issue can be redressed by using high-quality pavement materials as well as motor-based types of construction equipment.