Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family through mostly social network sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give some reason for your answer.

It is irrefutable that social networking has revolutionized communication modes in recent years. However, youngsters prefer to communicate with peer groups and relatives by using social networking apps as compared to communicating directly or on phone calls. I think it is a negative development. To begin with, why it is a negative development because younger generations use technology to connect with more and more people online and make friends but somehow they are forgetting the relations which are more precious in their lives. This means the number of friends is more than real ones. Nowadays, children do not find it interesting to spend time with family members. For instance,a person will have 1000 friends on Instagram, though no best friend with whom he can share his happiness and sorrows. Therefore, there are many disadvantages of using social networking sites despite many benefits. Furthermore, with the increased usage of social networking sites, younger ones are adopting the modern culture and getting away from their original culture. in other words, younger ones do not spend time with their grandparents. In addition to this, there is much cybercrime which is more frequent these days. Take, for example, husbands are cheating on their wives as they are more interested in online friends. Thus, relationships are getting affected. As a result, our near and dear ones are going away from us. To conclude this, it is evident that there are many benefits of communication over social networking, though some drawbacks too as youngsters are indulging themselves in show-off friendships rather than quality relationships.