Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

"A good friend is a brother born for times of distress" so goes the old adage. Forming friendships nowadays has been made easier with the advancement in technology. This however, has done more harm than good especially to the young minds among users. This essay will highlight how children are taken advantage of by people with evil intentions, their exposure to pornographic material and how these issues can be tackled. Two factors are behind the dangers that lie as a snare for unsuspecting children during their internet use. Firstly, because young minds are so eager to form friendships with almost anyone, they tend to reveal personal information about them to the person on the other screen without knowing the real person they chat with resulting in undesirable effects. For example, many sexual preditors desguise disguised themselves as children and make use of social media to build friendship with young people who they eventually harrase upon coming into physical contact with them. The second reason linked to the first is this, although parents may have forewarned them about danger of pornography, children can still view such materials on the internet especially with no or little parental oversight. To illustrate, some parents only tell children not watch any immoral entertainment but do not take interest to check if the child does adhere to the counsel. Inspite of these drawbacks about technology, there are ways children can be helped. Basically two methods can apply. The first being that parents should take an interest in knowing who their young adult is chatting with on social media. For instance, instead of giving all the freedom to a child to communicate with strangers on social media, parents should only allow friendships with people they know in person. Secondly, all devices that the young people use to access internet should be stationed in an open room where everyone can be monitored when using it. Take for example, if a family uses a laptop to browse the internet or for social media, they should put it in the living room so that they will be able to see what their child is watching hence avoid incidences of immoral entertainment by young children. In conclusion, regardless of the good that has come with the advancement in technology, parental supervison should take precedence in order to protect children from harm that can result from it. Stationing devices used for such purpose as internet in open room is one way among many. Parent interest in who their children are befirending defending can not be over emphazied.