Many countries spend a lot of money in the arts. Some people think investment in the arts is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public service and facilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, governments have increased their investment in the arts, but this move is seen as controversial. Some believe that investing in public services and facilities is the right way to use the money, while supporters argue that the critical impact of the arts on the public is often overlooked and that it is good to have supportive governments. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give my view. From the opponents' point of view, the majority of citizens cannot appreciate the arts due to a lack of good education. The urgent task at hand should not be to build museums and exhibitions but to focus financial expenditure on improving the material living standards of citizens by upgrading public services and infrastructure. At the same time, with the wealthy already subsidising the development of the arts, it would be wasteful for the government to spend its limited public coffers for the same purpose. On the other hand, proponents of the development of the arts suggest that there is no substitute for the influence of the arts on the general public. The majority of the nation indeed lacks a good appreciation of the arts. This is why it is essential to develop the arts, particularly to popularise arts education. The arts should not be the privilege of the upper classes. They have a unique role to play in inspiring minds and enhancing creativity so that everyone can profit from them and positively influence the future of society. More importantly, it is not that supporting the arts means disregarding basic services, both of which are the responsibility of the government, and therefore should not take away from investing in the arts to develop infrastructure. In conclusion, I reiterate my belief that the public should value the material base as well as the spiritual wealth and should not look only at short-term profits and thus change investment in the arts to one in public services.