Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People have different views about decreasing the rate of driving problems. Although there are good arguments in favour of strict punishments, I personally believe that other measures would be more effective in decreasing the rate of road accidents. On the one hand, many people believe that strict punishment is the most effective way in reducing the driving problem. There are many types of penalties for traffic problems, namely monetary fines, stripped of a driver's license, or imprisonment. Punishment is possible to help people have more attention when they are driving. That can help citizens have a higher awareness because of their bad behavior in the past. On the other hand, other measures would be more effective in decreasing the rate of road accidents. Firstly, the government needs to be more serious in traffic education, for example, they can increase the difficulty of driving tests. Besides that, they need to add traffic safety aids. In crossroads, road bends, or on roads with frequent accidents can be increased the number of speed reducers. In conclusion, we cannot deny that strict punishment is an effective way of reducing the driving problem but it is necessary to take more and more other measures about road safety.