Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

In the developing and modern world, video games are increasingly attracting both the old and the young, especially children. While they could play a positive role in our daily lives, I believe their disadvantages out shadow the advantages. On the one hand, video games could be regarded as an efficient tool in the aspect of education and entertainment. Some games are designed with detailed instructions teaching fundamental skills for players, such as Cooking Mama - a game that helps children know more amazing food recipes and develop their love for cooking. Hence, their horizons are broadened and creativities are increased either. In addition, that catchy tune, interesting plot and beautiful characters in that vital world of computer games relax the users after a busy week. On the other hand, video games make players become addictive and sooner or later they would be contracted with various illnesses. Some people, especially teenagers, are too immersed in the unreal world that they do not take care of their life anymore. They spend all day attaching eyes to the screen, trying to progress the levels of the games; which results in the lack of time sleeping and studying. Research done in Vietnam indicates that approximately 5000 students have to go to rehabs every year to quit computers and mobile phones. The rise in the rate of obesity cases has also been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that often accompany game addiction In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the possible benefits