Many countries spend a lot of money in the arts. Some people think investment in the arts is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public service and facilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided over the government's move to invest large amounts of public money in the arts. Some believe that this money is targeted in the right places, while others argue that funding the arts is unnecessary than investing in public services and facilities. This essay will discuss both views and state my opinion that investing in art is essential. Some people consider improving public services and the construction of infrastructure matters more significantly than the arts. Greater investment in basic health care, for example, could alleviate the lack of public medical reserves so that citizens could suffer less from disease and live longer. Public transport could also be invested in more, providing more travel options and less time to travel and commute. Spending money on education would provide more stages of compulsory education and increase the nation's literacy rate. On the contrary, people who support investment in the arts claim that art plays an irreplaceable role in people's lives. Visiting museums and art exhibitions are essential to relieve work stress and inner peace. Away from the noise of the crowds and the distractions of chores, a quiet moment to admire the masterpieces is a great way to slow down and forget the worries of the present, thus maintaining mental health. What is more, vigorous development of the cultural industry can boost tourism. Exquisite cultural products and excellent cultural and historical explanations can not only attract more visitors but also enhance the tourist experience and build up the reputation of local art. In conclusion, I reiterate my view that investing in the arts is imperative for individual mental health and the development of tourism in the area.