In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new m some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recently, businesses tend to highlight new features incorporated in their products in their promotion materials. There can be many logical reasons behind this move, such as to get people’s attention and to justify a price mark-up. Although this strategy is a positive development, it does have some adverse effects. Firstly, businesses always stress the latest technologies or design their products have in their promotions because they want to attract the majority of their customers. I think this is good progress because, in a way, this can help their customers ’ decision-making process more manageable. The customers would not have to do more profound research on the products when the marketing team has already done the work for them. This move can also help the business justify the price increment, which is good for them because they can gain more profit. On the other hand, this marketing strategy has some adverse developments. The businesses can manipulate the targeted customers by telling them the products have the most recent features compared to their previous version. However, they can also make slight adjustments to the products and claim that they make changes to them. They can also increase the price of the products while the adjustments made are very minimal. Hence, this marketing strategy, in a way, can be deceiving and only benefit the business but not the consumers. In conclusion, businesses do focus more on the latest features that their products have in their promotions. This marketing strategy has some positive developments, such as getting their targeted customers to buy their products. However, this marketing method can also negatively impact the customers by manipulating capitalists.