Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to hiring and recruitment, the key trends keep fluctuating. In recent times, experienced individuals are given more priority over those with lesser time in the workplace but with better education qualifications. This essay will discuss the topic in detail and explain why the merits outweigh the demerits of this thesis. There is no doubt that proper education is the foundation that leads to a good job. This is the very reason why students from top Ivy League Schools such as Harvard, Stanford, MIT get better placement opportunities post-graduation. Further, as a prerequisite to getting a good job, a candidate's educational equivalency and relevancy are important. For eg: For the role of a Financial Controller, the employer will typically look for a candidate with a bachelor’s degree in finance & accountancy. However, placing emphasis solely on education has many drawbacks. Firstly, schools and universities only teach us theoretical concepts. These learnings generally either don't hold in the real world or are not applied by working professionals. Secondly, on-the-job learning has a lot of importance in the economy since the knowledge gained through practical experience is industry-relevant and hence invaluable. For instance, a Senior Manager with 5 years of experience is far more valuable to an organisation than a Junior Analyst with perhaps 1-2 years of professional experience. In conclusion, a balance should be maintained between both education as well as time spent as a professional. This balance need not be equal. Rather, it should be more skewed towards practical learnings.