Many people say we should invest more in space industry while others say we should spend that money on other purposes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Alongside the rapid development of science and technology, the space industry, in particular, has been booming in recent decades. Considering the potential of such an industry, many people believe it should be invested more while others believe we had better spend that money on better purposes. This essay will set out some key points before any further conclusion. On the one hand, it is undeniable to say that there are severe issues which should be solved as soon as possible to save a huge number of ordinary people in the world such as famine, natural disasters, economic recession, diseases, terrorism, etc., and other essential factors including health care, transportation and, importantly, education. Such a practical humanitarian emergency requires considerable financial sources to maintain the stability and sustainability of humankind on Earth. Hence, it is undoubtedly not hollow words for many people to say vast investments for research in the universe is far too high compared to the visible benefits it brings. On the other hand, the huge amount of money allocated to space exploration, contrary to many people ’s opinion, does bring practical advantages. GPS and satellites must be mentioned as typical achievements. Thanks to the application of GPS, delivery services and drivers are now faster and more punctual since the suppliers can have the precise location of their customers. About satellites, scientists and professionals are able to observe and predict many potential occurrences of disasters and such forecasts can save a huge number of people each year. These indirect applications of space achievements have been working well. In conclusion, space programmes knowingly require giant financial allocation but it is not true that the benefits we gain from it are not worth it. In my opinion, it is absolutely wise of us to continue funding those researches which can assist humans to take control of this universe on higher levels.