A lot of people believe that the amount of violence shown on TV and in the cinema affects the actions of our young people and therefore increases the amount of violence in our society today. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be done to reduce violence in our society today?

Modern mass media is full of violent programs and movies that are often believed to be one of the evident reasons for juvenile crimes increase these days. This essay agrees that uncontrollable access to films and video games that contain violent elements influence young people negatively by providing a wrong example of problems and conflicts solving. First, this position will be proven by an analysis of the tendency of an immature child’s brain to simulate aggressive behavioral patterns. The necessity of control measures as limited internet access and reduction of time spent in front of the screen will be also discussed as the most effective ways to improve the situation. The main reason why children should be limited from violent media is a tendency to copy the behavior of offenders and criminals in real life. In other words, rarely do teenagers realize that on no account should their actions, in reality, be identified with the violent character. By imitation of the cruel hero, young people lose control of themselves, becoming more aggressive and less responsible for their lives in the long run. For example, according to statistics, horror movie lovers choose aggressive methods as fight or force to resolve conflicts. The best solution to this worrying problem is parents’ control and correct attitude to children ’s activities. To put it differently, not only is it crucial to block free access to violent programs, but it is also necessary to fulfill children ’s spare time by involving them in sports and arts. Moreover, it is extremely important to spend more time with children by gathering for family occasions and conversations, reducing in this way the time spent on the TV and computer. For instance, having conducted research among school children, scientists have revealed that young people who are less addicted to mass media have greater stress resistance and less aggressive behavior. In conclusion, taking into account all written above, I am firmly convinced that a negative example is provided for children by violent media watching and this can be solved through TV time reducing and internet access limitation.