Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work.

Colour adds beauty to the environment and the planet at large. For centuries, psychologists believe that a person's mood can be altered by a particular colour, hence the need to give special consideration to the types used when beautifying one"s workplace and health facilities. This essay will prove how true it is that colour reflects on an individual's mental state as well as the great lengths it does so. The truthfulness that colour affects a person's feelings is proved by the following reason. To begin with, each person has a favourite colour that he deems to be precious and makes him happy. In other words, it is because of colour that a person experiences great joy and a change in mood. For example, according to a survey conducted by the University of Zambia on the relationship between colours and feelings, it was determined that people wore different clothes that bore colours representing their moods. Thus proving true to the words of psychologists. That being the case, colours used for decorating hospitals and workplaces should be carefully selected to avoid spoiling people's moods. This is so because certain colours are capable of turning a jovial person's mood into a gloomy state. To illustrate, two years ago, a charity organisation in Mufulira town decorated an office with yellow colour and it was observed that whoever settled in that room for more than 20 minutes, had a gloomy appearance afterwards. Although certain colours may seem to be friendly when used for decorating the hospital or office, they can greatly affect how people work and result in poor or great productivity. In conclusion, it is a fact that colour has a bearing on a person's feelings, hence, should be given priority when considering which one to use. The output from the hospital or an office could hinge on it.