Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past few years, ownership of vehicles went up dramatically which led to massive traffic congestion in metropolitan cities over the world. Personally, I agree with this view to some extent, and in this essay, I'll explain what implementation can be done by governments to reduce single-passenger cars. To begin with, rapid developments of technology in recent decades makes cars cheaper and more affordable,so that, middle-class people even have their own one. After that, since in big cities many people should transfer between their home and workplace daily, they tend to use their automobile for daily commuting, since it's more convenient for them, in case that they should interchange much between public transports and most ways aren't much covered by public transportation. In my opinion, for reducing car use in rush time, government firstly can fund more in improving the public transport system. For example, covering more parts of the city and constructing more stations, providing a rapid bus system that has its own lane while every vehicle got stuck in the traffic jam, they'd be able to pass through. Secondly, the cost of using this system should be reasonable so that makes people prefer to use it instead of their own auto. After that, the government can also do some measures to surge the cost of using private vehicles, such as increasing the price of petrol, considering tolls for roads heading downtown. In conclusion, I strongly opine that increased ownership of private cars turned cities a big traffic jam worldwide, but I believe that there are several ways that mentioned before, which governments can convince people to use public transport instead.