Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Crime is a serious problem rising in today’s world. To tackle it, some argue that offenders should spend longer time in prison, while others feel that there are other ways to reduce crime activities. This essay will look at both views and explain why I think shorter prison sentence with psychological treatment is a better way to address the issue. Many people believe that handling out longer time to offenders will drastically reduce crime because this can invoke fear among other criminals. When a person knows that longer years of their lives will be spent in prison when they break the law, they become careful and obedient. For instance, in countries like the UAE and Qatar, a violent crime usually leads to lifetime prison sentences, which makes people think twice before committing any serious crime. Hence, imposing strict punishment deters people from committing crime. Others, however, feel that there are different ways to lower the crime rate, such as providing affordable education and employment. When people are occupied with school activities and jobs, they tend not to have the opportunity to engage in crime. For example, Sweden provides free tuition, and has a high employment rate. Research has shown that it has one of the lowest crime rates in the world. If more countries provide jobs and low-cost education, crime could dramatically reduce. Thus, longer sentences are not needed. In my view, a better way to curb crime is by providing psychological treatment to offenders while serving shorter time in prison. This evaluation will ascertain the root cause of their offences, while providing treatments and support. Countries like the Netherlands adapts these methods, whereby offenders get no more than six years in prison but must get psychological assistance while serving their punishments. This will instil fear in intending offenders and at the same time, cause behavioural change in criminals, whereas people who serve longer years can fall back to committing crimes.