Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

There are less and less people spending their time on hobbies in this modern world. The phenomenon can be caused by some reasons and impact people's mentality. In this essay, I will provide the potential causes and influences of it. First of all, with the convenience of internet, people tend to seek for entertainment on their mobile phones during the free time. It is common to see children or adults stick with online games, Youtube videos, and social media in the leisure time. Searching for a hobby doesn't seem necessary when there are so many things catching the attention on the mobile devices. Moreover, it is also possible that people who are working consider their free time still working time. It is because that the current society encourages employees to improve their skills constantly. Therefore, they might feel guilty to enjoy the leisure time on something they enjoy instead of learning a new skill. In my opinion, not pursuing hobbies can bring negative impact on one's mental status. Hobby is something that one can feel delightful while doing it. Thus, losing the chances or time for it can make people less happy on their daily lives. Moreover, those who have hobbies like to join close groups that share the same interest, such as sports teams, cooking groups, or reading groups. It provides an opportunity to socialize with others and meet new people. It is likely to make friends from the groups and thus bring more joys to lives. Without the chances to interact with others via these hobby groups, one may feel lonely after spending time with only smart phones or work. To sum up, in the recent time, some people tend to spend time merely with online activites on mobile phones, and others may feel obligated to study instead of cultivating a hobby. It may reduce their chances to feel the happiness from hobbies or to have more social activies in lives.