Some people believe that today’s world is a better place for old people. However some argue that they had better lives in the past. Agree or disagree?

Human beings always have plenty of concerns and fears about their old ages. While, there is an opinion that today’s world on the whole lead to more difficulties regarding the process of ageing, I, among others, hold that the elderly nowadays enjoy their lives more than they did in the past. There is no denying that advancements in today’s technology-focused world provide old people with plenty of facilities and amenities. There are a lot of provisions regarding old individuals’ healthcare that give them mental tranquillity. Unlike in the,past the elderly had many difficulties when they become sick, nowadays the elderly enjoy many new treatments with respect to some old-related illnesses such as Parkinson. More importantly, the modern world provides the elderly with many programmes by which they can socialize with their children and friends. For instance, they enjoy many online applications such as Facebook to improve their communications. In this way, they are less likely to become depressed. Some people may argue that despite technological advancements, many old people may feel loneliness more. They believe that they might do not have computer-related literacy to make connections with other people, most notedly people whose children are far from them. But, this is not a big problem and governments provide them with many training programmes to enter the virtual worlds and enjoy their lives more. Therefore, they can overcome their sense of loneliness. Ultimately, in spite of the fact that there are some old people suffering from a sense of loneliness because of the lack of computer-related knowledge, I believe that the improvements of the modern world bring more joy for the elderly.