Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There are many ways for school to equip their pupils to face the future. Some people argue that one of the effective strategies to do is encouraging them to do volunteering activities as a part of school curriculum. I personally agree if this scheme is applied as it will not only help other’s life but also boost the social skill of the students. Firstly, getting involved in a volunteering service will widen students ’ networking because they work with people out of their circle. This will teach them how to make new friends and commit to a community which is important to build a bright career in the future. I recall the moment when I was in college and contributed to a dental charity held by a church in Surabaya. Through this activity, I had an opportunity to work with priests and nuns, which I had never imagined before as a Moslem. As a result, we still managed to maintain the relationship after the event by doing several projects together. Secondly, it is largely believed that community service will improve people ’s quality of life. High school students can be part of this improvement by gathering fundraising to provide meals and blankets for homeless people in their neighbourhood. This program will help the vulnerable group to get food and basic needs as hunger and homelessness are still major problems. Furthermore, this activity can raise students ’ empathy because they directly witness the homeless’ struggle. Empathy later will inspire students to take positive action in order to make the world a better place to live. To sum up, I support the idea to make community service as a mandatory programme in high school to develop the social ability of students as well as give social support to people who need it the most. (299 words)