Some countries have implemented mandatory community service programs for young people. In these programs, Children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people, or work with animals. What are some advantages and disadvantages of this for young people?

Youth is the best time of a human life for productive activities. During this stage, people are energetic and creative and therefore are best suited for serving their community. Some countries have realized the potential of their young manpower and taken initiatives to utilize it in various services by making the community service mandatory for children aged 16 to 18. While these initiatives are certainly useful for the welfare of both the country and the young people, there are also some less noticeable adverse effects on the participating children like decreasing their free time and hindering the growth of their creativity. Upbringing of children and teenagers are widely considered as the most important factor in shaping the future of a country. It is, therefore, supremely important to grow a sense of attachment within them towards their community. Participating directly in different charity works not only helps to develop this attachment but also turns them into sensible, compassionate, and responsible citizens. Moreover, these community services train the youths to be leaders in their respective fields in future. For most of the developed countries in the current world, it is noticeable in their young people to have extensive experience of engaging in welfare activities. On the other hand, kids require spare time to hone their creativity. Being continuously pressured to do activities imposed by others reduces time for leisure and recreation, which may hurt cognitive development. Moreover, it becomes notoriously difficult for these children to spend time with their own families, resulting in fragile family structure and lack of respect toward parents. Last but not the least, these programs take away the natural spontaneous happiness from the children, which may lead them towards depression. In conclusion, the importance of involving the young generation in community services can not be overstated. Especially in today’s materialistic world where people tend to engage themselves in a rat-race for being successful, charity works are one of the few things to preserve the altruistic nature that is the core of humanity. However, at the same time, these selfless acts should not take away the little happiness of minds necessary to survive. The best strategy would be to find a middle ground where children are encouraged, but not forced to perform community services.