Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university.

Some people claim that universities should mainly provide job-related skills and knowledge, while others believe that universities should return to the essence of nurturing people and do not take too much into account the requirements of employers. My view is that the main function of universities is to deliver knowledge rather than to meet the expectations of potential employers of graduates. Those who insist that the main task of the university is to provide work-oriented knowledge argue that going to university is all about obtaining a well-paid job. Thus it is vital to give adequate consideration to the work-ability of the curriculum and the demands that employers are likely to make. More importantly, when university students are proficient in the skills which are essential for the job and are familiar with the workflow and content before they graduate, they can accomplish their work more efficiently and can be more competitive in the job market. On the contrary, a part of the population has always subscribed to the belief that the major function of the university is to educate in the field and not to become an internship institution for students. The insights that university students learn at university not only cater for their target jobs, but also give them the confidence to choose a non-specialist career. For instance, when university students learn the basics of different disciplines at university, it gives them a broader knowledge and a more open mind, rather than limiting them to thinking about their own profession. In their in-depth study of theoretical knowledge, for example, university students hone their ability to learn, thus making them more receptive to new knowledge and the possibility of choosing more paths in work. In conclusion, I reiterate my view that universities should focus primarily on imparting knowledge, rather than ignoring theories to become directly work-oriented institutions.