Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

It is believed that tertiary learners should do courses they prefer. However, some think they must study scientific and technological subjects only. My opinion on this is that, indeed, students should select useful courses such as science and technology. This essay will delve into both views. Nowadays, the most paying jobs are found in the department of science and technology. It appears that a lot of doctors and engineers do better than social science students in life. That is why I agree with the assertion that those that consider going to university should choose useful areas of study. For example, as a social scientist that graduated seven years ago, I have been sending job applications with no luck. Sometimes I really wish I had found career guidance from someone before applying to the university. On the contrary, my friends who did pure sciences are all employed and living luxuriously. However, the second opinion is that learners should do any courses they like. This is to avoid a situation where they blame their parents for forcing them to study fields they do not like, especially when they start working and their jobs are not so exciting in the future. Nevertheless, I find this thinking to be invalid because high salaries mean better living. For instance, personally, if I had studied technology (one subject that I hate) I would still be happy as long as I receive a monthly salary to sustain my family. Conclusively, therefore, I support the idea that university students must choose critical areas for research as this helps them find better and more rewarding careers in the future, though some argue that learners must have the freedom to do subjects they deem right in order to avoid conflicts with parents. These and other issues have been discussed above.