More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development.

As a spurt of technological advance, Internet is transforming the way people work and live. An unavoidable fact we are confronting is that people are gradually tend to search information through the Internet instead of reading newspapers or watching TV programs. Generally speaking, it is a positive development in some aspects. As the approach of reading newspapers attains less interest, manufacturers become unwilling to spend much money on them, which serves as an explanation for direct reduce in newspaper producing as well as the relative consumption of raw material such as wood and some chemical reagents. Since the excessive usage of these sources can cause irreversible damage to environment, less it is expected to a positive change. Comparing to TV, mobile devices such as smartphones, laptops and i-Pads are more portable and accessible, enabling us to surf the Internet immediately whenever and wherever it is. Considering that some groups such as students are involved in study thus unable to spare time to wait for TV programs or buy newspapers, in which case, Internet would be a more appropriate choice to keep up with the news. In addition, online reading provides some special functions, for instance, comment and searching engine. The former usually provides a platform where people communicate and make discussions on issues at ease, making it fascinating to go through the news. Searching engine aims to help people get infinite information in a more convenient way, so it contributes to broaden their horizons. Past decades has witnessed the rapid development in Internet whereby it manifests its superiority to other means of learning about the news which are predicted to be substituted completely and the terms ”newspapers” and ”TV” will fade away from people ’s memory in future.