Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, public opinion is divided over the reasons for learning a foreign language. I believe having the ability to speak any language, especially the international language, is crucial for every individual. To begin with, mastering a new language requires a considerable amount of time and energy. Accordingly, only those who wish to travel, work or study abroad should devote this much time and effort. Some people may be better off focusing on learning the skills needed for their occupations. Besides, people do not require any other form of language than their own mother's tongue. This is true even for routine tasks like shopping or opening an account at the bank. Therefore, it can be argued that mastering a new language is not suitable for everyone. On the other hand, modern society has acquired the basic knowledge of other languages. When people wish to access the Internet or use state-of-the-art devices like mobile phones, they should have a basic understanding of a lingua franca. Along with, language is a medium by means of communicating; thus, the importance of the sense of communication which is brought about by a knowledge of any language should be considered. Being able to speak with people from varying cultures and different walks of life and the chance to make a wide circle of friends via social media is a compelling reason worth one’s while learning a foreign tongue. In conclusion, while some believe there are only a few cogent reasons to learn a foreign language, others contend there are many other motivations for mastering it. These motivations include travelling and working overseas. According to me, this is a crucial aspect of every person's life.