Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Several individuals are of the opinion that the older structures in the city must be replaced with contemporary ones whereas others imagine that these older buildings must be protected. I argue that constructing new structures is more ideal. Both views will be discussed below. First and foremost, the older the building, the greater the problems. Hence, this is reason enough to consider replacing them in order to avoid challenges such as poor drainage systems, leakages and even structural collapse. For example, the Hong Kong government in 2018 announced that its aged structures needed to be immediately revamped to avoid a serious and more expensive crisis in the event of a cyclone or other water-related disaster. On the other hand, however, some old buildings and houses are important because they help in showcasing and preserving the heritage of a place. Destroying them could eradicate the identity of the people and the place. However, it does not make sense to protect identity and culture while exposing people to harm and danger. For instance, BBC Africa reported in 2013 that 50 Nigerians had lost their lives after an old building collapsed in Abuja. Had these people been evacuated and the building reconstructed, this disaster would have been avoided. In conclusion, therefore, while it sounds plausible to believe that old buildings need to be protected for historical reasons as discussed in the second paragraph, I am of the view that it is better to prevent deaths and poor living conditions that come with these structures. These issues have been discussed at length in the essay above.