Many animal species in world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to the topic of preservation of wildlife, some people argue that governments should focus on the improvement of citizens’ living standards, instead of spending money on wildlifelife conservation. However, others insist that it is extremely necessary to protect wild animals. Personally, I strongly agree that conserving endangered animals is essential, which is virtually the human responsibility. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives, and explain why I opt for this view. On one hand, some people advocate that local authorities and individuals should concern about the issues with human beings by allocating funds, rather than considering the existence of wild creatures. In another word, they believe that it is a waste of resources and finance to protect the extinct animals, especially for those countries that are still struggling with meeting the basic demand of citizen’s life. According to their view, if a developing country allocates too much time and energy to safeguarding wildlife, instead of catering for its people ’s well being, the consequences will be catastrophic. I mean, by then, residents’ life will be under poor conditions, and society will witness a structural unemployment issue. Therefore, this group of people think that sparing any sort of effort on extinct animals is meaningless, and they believe that we should prioritize the development of our human society instead. On the other hand, another group of people, as well as I, recommend that we should protect vulnerable animals due to the following aspects. First and foremost, extinct creatures are important for the balance of the ecosystem. For example, if we leave sea turtles alone, the whole marine ecosystem will not be in equilibrium. Hence, this will unavoidably cause catastrophic effects on the environment and eventually lead to human beings’ trouble in life, such as ocean acidification and decline in coastal city’s economy. Secondly, if governments ignore the wild animals, we will face the crisis of decline in biodiversity which supports human and societal needs in a non-negligible way. Without biodiversity, food, nutrition security, energy, development of medicines and pharmaceuticals and freshwater are not being able to underpin good health. Therefore, even though we might not see the benefit in the short term, we believe that it is crucial to protect those animals which are endangered for the sake of the overall human’s benefit. In conclusion, although some people argue that governments should guarantee the basic living of people, I firmly believe that preventing those animals from disappearing is greatly significant.