Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different points of view how governments should do to improve road safety. This essay discusses both sides of this argument, and I will give my own perspective, which is that governments should pay more attention to making punishments more serious. There are some practical ways to make road safety better. The best approach is to raise the criteria for getting vehicle licenses. More rigorous vehicle lessons the public learn higher driving skills the public have. For example, people who want to get vehicle licenses in China need to spend almost a half year learning driving skills and traffic laws in the class. After finishing the class, they need to practice for about one month before they have a test. In addition, governments can lower the price of taking public transportation so that encourage the public to take it. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. Firstly, governments should raise the price of fines because most people are afraid of paying bills. It is the most direct way can affect the public’s diving style. Secondly, delinquents should take transportation-related courses before they drive again. Every time drivers who violating traffic laws, they should cost their spare time learning driving lessons. Finally, directing traffic on the road is also a deterrent method to punish delinquents. For example, people who drive across the road when the traffic light is red. They should spend their holidays directing traffic for the public. In conclusion, I believe that both sides have merits. On balance, it is my opinion that governments should make punishments more serious in order to improve road safety effectively.