Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

Many individual schools have encouraged foreign language learning at an earlier stage. However, this policy can offer some advantages along with some disadvantages. It is clear that young children acquire language much more easily than teenagers. Their brains are programmed to learn their mother tongue, which also facilitates learning another language so that they can learn foreign languages easier. At a young age, children love to explore and learn new things and learning a new language is also a way to stimulate curiosity and love to discover new things. Acquiring foreign languages can also help children to understand other cultures. Learning a foreign language early also makes it easier for children to develop that language after they go to middle school or high school. However, there are some downsides that can be considered. Primary school teachers may not have the necessary language skills or they may not be well trained for those particular languages. In some situations, it becomes very stressful for the child to have to learn another language in addition to the mother tongue. Some researchers have shown from their studies that children who learn foreign languages at early ages have difficulty deciding which language to speak and may learn nothing at all. Children may not be able to speak their mother tongue when they are exposed to a foreign language too early with a greater frequency than their mother language. In summary, a foreign language teaching policy can be adopted in primary schools, which can also benefit society culturally and economically. Young children ’s access to foreign languages may be easier to achieve.