Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase the tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that the authorities should impose a tax on gasoline in order to decrease traffic congestion and air pollution these days. In the following paragraphs, both benefits and drawbacks of this issue will be outlined. On the one hand, there are some benefits of increasing the tax on petrol as it can help reduce traffic congestion and air pollution on the road. First of all, imposing the tax will encourage residents to use public transportation such as the metro or bus, instead of using their own car. For this reason, the number of cars will be significantly dropped. Moreover, public transportation is able to carry a huge number of people at the same time. This means that the amount of air pollution will decrease. On the other hand, imposing the fee on the fuel can provide some negative effects. To begin with, when the governments increase the tax on gasoline, it can affect other economic aspects such as households. To illustrate, imposing the fee will make many restaurants have difficulty in maintaining the previous food price. Consequently, people cannot afford this higher food price. Furthermore, there are other solutions to reduce pollution which the governments should address more than increasing the fee on petrol. For instance, burning crops by farmers and releasing wastes by factories are more impact on pollution than using cars. In conclusion, it is undeniable that imposing the tax on fuel provides some positive effects on reducing traffic congestion and air pollution which help maintain our environment. However, there are some negative effects that the governments should be concerned about in terms of the economy.