Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are marries or single. some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate around whether it is a moral behaviour if people are asked about their personal data such as marriage conditions for employment or not has raged on for many years. I, for one, reckon that it is essential for companies to know their employees as much as they can. This essay delves into the issue and provides logical reasons before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, supporters of the idea of enquiring the personal information believe that items such as age, religion, marital status as well as pastimes would show how much a person is well-rounded even show other aspects of personality traits. For example, a person who does yoga for a leisure activity would have higher endurance, flexibility and patience, while a person who is a painter would definitely possess better imagination. Thus all these items of characteristic could have direct impacts on the level of productivity, concentration and teamwork which all of them are so crucial for success at a job. On the other hand, many people believe getting personal data is completely opposite the privacy and other factors should be taken into consideration during an interview for two key reasons. Mainly, they highlight that it is more vital to find out how much an interviewee has worked in his/her area of expertise in preference to whether he/she is single or married. Moreover, individuals have bad personal circumstances such as being divorced and questioning about them results in their embarrassment. According to statistics which have been published by the New York Times magazine in 2020, approximately 40 per cent of interviewees feel stressed out while they are being asked about their personal information. Having taken all into consideration, as far as I am concerned, it is not a bad idea to ask for personal information as it would have profound impacts on the job.