Some people believe that when recruiting new staff, businesses should try to attract people who can work independently on their own, while others believe that they should recruit people who are able to work in a team. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Businesses have always sought to take on well-developed and skilled staff in order to increase productivity. Opinions on who is the most successful candidate for a job are often divided. It is considered by some that people who can work independently on their own are more likely to have a great contribution to the betterment of a business, while there are others, including myself, that believe it would be more beneficial to hire people who have developed teamwork skills. On the one hand, business owners naturally look for human resources that are capable of understanding and managing work on their own. In other words, open-minded and self-reliant people are so preferable as they are capable of thinking outside the box and coming up with an unexpected but amazing ideal, which will help the firm compete against other rivals. These types of people are self-sufficient and do not need any help from others while making important decisions and overcoming obstacles. On the other hand, it is also claimed that teamwork is key to success. The majority of people believe that if the employees are flexible to work in a group and follow the path defined by the organization, the organization as well as the employees would be mutually benefitted. According to them, working as a team brings the scope of different inputs and collective decision-making. For example, in most cases, tasks have been divided among employees, therefore only with proper coordination and lower ego conflicts, the company can complete the project within the deadline. In my opinion, it depends on the nature of the work. Some jobs require innovative and independent candidates while there are others that include a partnership. Therefore, I hold the view that when hiring staff managers and business owners should make sure whether a candidate’s skills coincide with job requirements or not. In conclusion, to succeed in managing projects, resources should have creative thinking coordinating abilities alongside with teamwork skills. However, I believe that it depends on job requirements.