After being punished, many criminals continue to commit crimes. Why do some people commit crimes even after having been punished? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

A significant number of offenders who serviced confinement sentences,leave prison to re-offend mainly due to lack of rehabilitation and influence of other criminals from jail. This issue can be mitigated by regular supervision by the authority once these ex-offenders are out in the society and provision of necessary skills training while in the lockup. To begin with, the reason most first-time offenders commit crimes again is due to the fact that they find it difficult to go back to a normal life once because of the way society treats them. To exemplify, most ex-convicts find it difficult to find a job after being released as most companies perform background checks as part of the recruitment process and these candidates tend to fail due to their history. In addition, in some,cases their moralities will be damaged due to the negative influence from other mobs they meet in jail. To explain further, in prison all types of offenders tend to meet for common activities and this time the young criminals who were prisoned for some petty crimes will get to interact with others who committed some serious offences. The above-mentioned problems can be controlled by regular supervision by the government authorities so that they will be cautious enough to refrain from repeating the same mistakes. Furthermore, if the jail authority introduces some rehabilitation programs to improve their morality and also other skill development training. To illustrate, many prisons now introduced skill training programs where gangland can opt to attend classes like carpentry, plumbing, welding etc. To conclude, human beings do actions that are out of law because they are desperate or do not have any other options. Giving aid in their hands would lead them in the direction of a better future.