ocial media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to the effects of social media on modern friendship, people tend to hold different views. Some claim that we are getting more and more disconnected with the rise of social media while others argue that social media is helping people to find new friends. On the one hand, social media provides us with new access to make friends. With the growing number of befriend apps, it becomes much easier for people to find someone who shares the same interest, since social media has the ability to orientate your interests. Take myself for an example, I am very interested in history and thanks to social media, I found a lot people with common interest. Chatting with them, I am able to exchange my view on certain topics with them and in this way, I made a lot of friends. In addition, social media helps introverted people to connect with others. For introverted people, social interaction is terrifying and they fear being rejected by others. But thanks to social media, they do not need to go out and suffer under the feeling of being rejected. On the other hand, many argue that although it seems easy to make friends through social media, maintaining your friendships has become more and more difficult and time-consuming because we have only a fixed amount of social capital. Although with social media, we can easily befriend more than hundreds of people with similar interests. However, the main problem is that we lack deeper connections to them because we hardly invest any face-to-face time in these relationships. For example, I find it hard to keep in touch with all my online friends and sometimes, we just exchange several words before never hearing from each other again. To conclude, I think that social media has made befriending other people easier and through social media, we can find a lot of people with similar interests which is harder in real life. However, we should also be aware that social media also affects friendship in an unhealthy way. Since it has become more and more easier to make new friends, nobody values their old friendships anymore. Although social media can help people find their old friends again, but it is the emotional connection that cannot be found again.