Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase the tax on petrol (gasoline). Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is generally believed that for controlling air and noise pollution as well as traffic jams higher authorities should escalate the tax on gasoline. There are both pros and cons of increasing the price of fuel. In this essay, I will discuss both of them. There are a variety of advantages of increasing tax on petrol. Firstly, the number of vehicles will be controlled because the majority of people will unable to afford the high prices of fuel. Therefore, they will prefer to use public transport instead of personal vehicles. For instance, in China and Japan large number of individuals are using either public travel or bicycles in which there is no use of any kind of material to run. As a result, they remain healthy and the problem of traffic jams on roads is also not present. Secondly, if the price of gas is increased and the number of cars diminishes it will also have an environmental friendly effect that is there will be less combustion of fuel and production of carbon monoxide. Consequently, air pollution will be under control. Similarly, cars and big transit also make a lot of noise leading to noise pollution which will get controlled by increasing tax on petrol. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks as well. To begin with, many people who will have to travel by public transportation has to wait long for their turn to come. For example, many students who cannot afford personal cars are often late to their school or college and miss their coursework After having discussed the pertinent points related to the subject, it can be inferred that although there are many advantages of escalating taxes on gas, there are some disadvantages as well.