As global trade increases, many goods, even those we use in a daily basis, are produced in other countries and have to be transported in long distances. Do you think the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

With the development of international business,communities around the world try to purchase things from foreign countries. Unfortunately, this process has come to a point,where people try to buy branded items even for there day to day life. However, this new trend definitely affects the local producers and at the same time, the cost of living for local people will invariably be high. Due to these facts, I believe the drawbacks of this phenomenon is much higher than its benefits. To begin with, as we can see, international companies has different approaches to reach local markets. As a result of their creative marketing campaign and global name, most local people will trend to buy these products. Unfortunately, this will affect the local producers and they will get discouraged for the business. To illustrate this, as per a research report published by a pioneer Indian economic magazine, about 35% of local business persons closed their factories during the last 5 years due to the recent popularity of global bands in India. At the same time, When we purchase more and more international products, our foreign reserve will be a trend to decline, leading the country to a shortage of Dollars. Furthermore, as we have to pay more for these global branded items it will invariably lead to an increase in the cost of living. For instance, according to recent research published by a Sri Lankan university, this year there is about a 25% increase in the cost of living of Sri Lankans compared to last year mainly due to purchasing branded items for day to day life. In conclusion, With the development of the global market people tend to buy branded items even for their daily living. Since this could lead to the closing of the local business and reduce the foreign reserve of the country, this writer believes that the negative effects of this will be far more than its positive effects.