To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

The world's population is growing exponentially, and there is no doubt that food scarcity can become a real problem soon. One of the solutions suggested and implemented in certain parts is to use edible insects as food. However, many people are against this view and claim that this can create new problems. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of insect consumption. With the growing demand for food, alternative options must be available. Insects can be a solution to this inevitable problem because of many reasons. Firstly, bugs are the largest inhabitant on the Earth, and their population is estimated to be triple that of humans. Thus, they can be easily available for consumption. Secondly, insects contain various nutrients like proteins, antioxidants which can be good for health. For example, in China, edible bugs like grasshoppers are successfully being used to treat various medical conditions. On the other hand, insects are generally considered unhealthy because they are usually found in dirty places. Additionally, edible insects are often infected by parasites and pathogens, which can negatively affect human lives. Furthermore, if humans start consuming insects, that might disturb the natural food cycle and disrupt the biological world's ecosystem. For instance, according to one study in Japan, this practice has led to a remarkable decline in the bugs population. To conclude, it is clear that insect consumption can be a potential solution for food availability. However, it can also invite considerable problems in terms of health and biodiversity. More research to know the risk-benefit ratio of this particular method can help find a path forward.